Why are some reviews marked "Verified"?

When a review on Trustpilot is marked "Verified", it means we've verified that the reviewer has had a genuine experience with the company.

This happens when the company uses our automated invitation tools to invite customers to leave a review. It also happens when the reviewer has given us documentation showing their buying or service experience.

1. When invitations are sent via Trustpilot

All businesses using Trustpilot are welcome to invite their customers to leave reviews. If they do so with our automated email invitation tools (via our free or paid services), those reviews will be marked as “Verified”.

verified-review-outlined.png

Note: If companies send out review invitations, we ask them to invite all their customers equally and identically (or using a neutral system), and with neutral language. See our Guidelines for Businesses (US, UK) or best practices for creating invitations.

2. When documentation is provided

Reviewers on Trustpilot can be asked to provide documentation showing they’ve had a buying or service experience with the reviewed company when, for example, the company reports a review because they don’t believe the person writing it has had a genuine experience.

Reported reviews are handled by our Content Integrity Team. If they request and receive documentation showing a buying or service experience with the reviewed company, the review can be put back online. To indicate that they’ve seen valid documentation, our Content Integrity Team will mark the review “Verified”.

Help us maintain trust

We work hard to ensure our rules are followed. But we always welcome help from our community. Please let us know if you receive a review invitation that violates our guidelines, or if you’re a business with proof that your documentation is being falsified. See more on whistleblowing here.