Table of contents
If someone has reviewed your domain on Trustpilot, you'll have a business profile for that domain. If you have several domains, you may have several business profiles on Trustpilot. A profile merge consolidates all these profiles into one place.
Once your profiles are merged, all the reviews from each separate profile will appear on Trustpilot under a single combined main profile. The TrustScore of your main profile will be recalculated based on reviews that have been merged into it.
Merging your profiles into one combined main profile makes it easier for customers to find and review your business - and easier for you to manage your reviews from one centralized profile.
When can I request a business profile merge?
You can request a profile merge for one of these 3 reasons:
1. Identical domains
- If you have more than one domain, and all of the domains included in the merge automatically redirect traffic to one main domain.
Common examples: company.com is the main domain, and company.net and company.org automatically redirects traffic to company.com.
Note: If you are redirecting traffic because your business has rebranded, you should choose ‘Rebranding’ instead - otherwise, your merge request may be rejected or delayed.
- If you have more than one domain, and each domain shows exactly the same content.
Common examples: company.com, company.net, company.org do not have an automatic redirect in place, but all have identical content.
- If you have more than one domain with the same content, but in different languages - usually because you have different business locations.
Common examples: company.com has content in English, company.fr has the same content in a French translation, and company.de in a German translation
- At our discretion, we may also allow you to merge profiles of domains that do not have entirely the same content, but are equivalent or substantially similar to each other, and we determine that there is a consumer benefit to merging those profiles. Your merge request may take longer for us to consider if this is the case.
If you have changed your business name or brand, and your old domain redirects traffic to your new domain.
Common examples: oldbrand.com automatically redirects traffic to newbrand.com.
Note: If you have rebranded because your business has combined with another business, or because there has been a change in who owns or controls your business, you should choose ‘Business merger or change in ownership’ instead - otherwise your merge request may be rejected or delayed.
Note: If you have rebranded and don’t have an automatic redirect in place, but have another method of redirecting traffic to your new domain instead, it’ll be at our discretion whether we approve your merge request.
3. Business merger and or change of ownership
At our discretion, we may also allow profiles to be merged if a business has bought or taken-over one or more other companies/businesses.
Because mergers, takeovers and acquisitions come in all shapes and sizes, we may need to reach out to you for more information about your newly combined business. We will only approve a profile merge if we determine that there is a consumer benefit in doing so.
Note: If the company or business that has been bought or taken-over is still run as a separate business or brand, your merge request is likely to be rejected.
There are a few things to consider before you request a merge of your business's profiles:
- Profile merges are permanent and cannot be reversed.
- All reviews from each individual business profile will be shown on one combined main profile. This means that the TrustScore of the main profile will be recalculated based on the merged reviews.
- Your combined main profile, and the reviews which came from your other profiles, will always be publicly marked as “Merged”.
- The Business Transparency page that is linked to your business's main profile shows your activity over the past 12 months. When you merge your profiles, your merge activity will also be shown. This includes:
- The date of your profile merge.
- Which domains were involved in the merge, and their previous TrustScores and number of reviews.
- Which of the 3 reasons above was the reason for your profile merge.
Read this article to find out more about what will be shown publicly about your merge.
- Your main business profile is the only domain that will qualify for Google Seller Ratings.
- Users associated with each individual profile will be retained and moved to the main profile.
- You can only retain the invitation history, templates, invitation configurations, and/or business description for the domain that you select as your main profile (although, be aware that there may not be any data to retain if it is a new profile). If any of the other profiles being merged has any invitation history, templates, invitation configurations, and/or company description, this data will be lost. Because we can’t keep this data for each profile, TrustBoxes may need to be reinstalled.
- If you use product reviews, they will be merged into the main profile and will have to be implemented by adding a TrustBox to your website.
- When visitors search for any of the domains included in the merge on Trustpilot, they will be redirected to the combined main profile where reviews will appear in the visitor's relevant language. You can read more about language filters here.
- Profiles are country-specific, so if merged, the main profile will only be visible in the category pages of the country it's registered in.
Request a profile merge
If you want to merge your business profiles, follow these steps:
- Claim all business profiles
The first step is to ensure that the business profiles for each of the domains included in the merge have been claimed. If you’re not sure how to claim a profile, check out this article.
- Check that you are an Admin User for all business profiles
We only accept merge requests from an Admin User of all the profiles that are included in the merge. Make sure that the email address you use when submitting your merge request form is the same as the email address you use as an Admin User of your Trustpilot Business account(s). Read this article to find out more about adding Admin Users to a business account(s).
- Check that all domains are on the same subscription plan
Because all merging profiles will permanently become one combined main profile, we need all the domains that are included in the merge to be kept together as ‘one package’, on the same subscription plan. If all your domains are on the Free plan, that’s fine. If you are on a paid subscription plan, you should talk to your Customer Success manager about adding all the domains involved to your subscription (there may be an additional charge for adding domains).
- Enable account management permissions
In Trustpilot Business, navigate to Settings > Data consent. Under Account Management, enable the permission toggle for ALL the domains included in the merge.
- Complete the merge request form
Fill out the following form and send it to our Support Team by clicking this link:
Once your request has been submitted, one of our Support Agents will review the information and get in touch with you.